Skip to content

Unnecessary software complexity here for generations

May 15, 2012

Unnecessary specialized (including Bible) software complexity here for generations.

Paralax Perspective blog chessboards icon

Could attempt to explain this myself. But a superior and well recognized computer person has left a great and well written legacy of the great truths about computers that the establishment has ignored and will ignore for a few generations more.

In attempting to explain the utter wrongness of today’s Bible software, I have stumbled into an explanation which matches my own explanation. Dijkstra’s notions generally match my own. That is why he is the greatest computer person of my generation. He did better and knew more than I, but he was a year older and his mother was a mathematician.

Logos Groupthink | The Parallax Perspective http://bit.ly/L3VA0e  [My comment.] The actual future is now but largely unrecognized and unimplemented. The proper human use of computers is programing, not the simulation of obsolete procedures and devices. An interface between a simple, flexible programming language and books in a standard data base format is what is needed. I have used BibleWorks since version 4. But as a retired computer system architect I have been hugely frustrated by the specialized complexity of today’s software. But I have become independently aware of the explanation of this lag in implementation by the greatest computer person of my generation.

Edsger Wybe Dijkstra (1930-2002)

E.W.Dijkstra Archive: Interview Prof. Dr. Edsger W. Dijkstra, Austin, 04-03-1985 “You should realize that in any field the time lag, the delay between a significant scientific progress and its acceptance by the scientific community at large not to mention the moment that it finds its way into a product should be measured in generations. The reasons for dissatisfaction with the way I have been educated—on the whole I am extremely happy with my education—are that nobody warned me about that time lag of a few generations, I had to discover that all by myself with a lot of frustration.” http://bit.ly/K3upUA

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

