Skip to content

Shock value restored to Phi. 3:8

November 1, 2011

___ The wishy-washiness of the translators of the last century wisely avoided.
___ [NET chapter notes: …] 10 tn The word here translated “dung” was often used in Greek as a vulgar term for fecal matter. As such it would most likely have had a certain shock value for the readers. This may well be Paul’s meaning here, especially since the context is about what the flesh produces.
___ http://net.bible.org/#!bible/Philippians+3
___ NET©3:8 More than that, I now regard all things as liabilities compared to the far greater value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whom I have suffered the loss of all things – indeed, I regard them as dung! [[10]] – that I may gain Christ,
___ I actually prefer “excrement” here. It is both more dignified and more exact.
___ The much greater egregious almost universal error in the translation of this verse remains uncorrected. (Except, as I remember, from the exegetical section of the old edition of The Interpreter’s Bible, “have had all things confiscated”.) It is difficult to translate the passive of the Greek verb for “lose” without introducing an active sense to all that follows. Changing grace into works. The ubiquitous error of the Galatians. My substitution: “Through whom I have had all things taken away … so that I [was able to] receive Christ [as a free gift] 9 and[, thereafter and forever,] be found in Him, not having my own righteousness, which is out of law, but that which is through faith from Christ, the righteousness which is out of God [and] on the basis of faith; 10 and so that I was enabled[, thereafter and forever,] to perceive Him, and the power of His resurrection, and the close relationship [gained from] His sufferings, being transformed through His death,”
___ Other versions as displayed in “Parallel” at above link. Note 20th century wishy-washiness.
___ NIV© 3:8 What is more, I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them rubbish, that I may gain Christ
___ NASB© 3:8 More than that, I count all things to be loss in view of the surpassing value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and count them but rubbish so that I may gain Christ,
___ ESV© 3:8 Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ
___ NLT© 3:8 Yes, everything else is worthless when compared with the infinite value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have discarded everything else, counting it all as garbage, so that I could gain Christ
___ MSG© 3:8 Yes, all the things I once thought were so important are gone from my life. Compared to the high privilege of knowing Christ Jesus as my Master, firsthand, everything I once thought I had going for me is insignificant–dog dung. I’ve dumped it all in the trash so that I could embrace Christ
___ BBE© 3:8 Yes truly, and I am ready to give up all things for the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord, which is more than all: for whom I have undergone the loss of all things, and to me they are less than nothing, so that I may have Christ as my reward,
___ NKJV© 3:8 Yet indeed I also count all things loss for the excellence of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord, for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and count them as rubbish, that I may gain Christ
___ NRSV© 3:8 More than that, I regard everything as loss because of the surpassing value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things, and I regard them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ
___ KJV© 3:8 Yea doubtless, and I count all things [but] loss for the excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord: for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and do count them [but] dung, that I may win Christ,

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

